November 17, 2016 at 6 pm — Estonia Concert Hall (pre-concert talk and chamber performance)
November 17, 2016 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

November 18, 2016 at 6 pm — Estonia Concert Hall (pre-concert talk and chamber performance)
November 18, 2016 at 7 pm — Estonia Concert Hall

2nd concert of the ENSO 90 series
2nd concert of the HARMONY series

Artur Kapp (1878–1952)
“The Last Confession” (“Viimne piht”) for violin and orchestra (1905)

Artur Lemba (1885–1963)
“Poème d’amour” (“Armastuse poeem”) (orch. by Peeter Saul)

Richard Strauss (1864–1949)
“Der Bürger als Edelmann” (“The Bourgeois Gentleman”), Op. 60 (1918)

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
Piano Quartet in g minor, Op. 25, orch. by Arnold Schönberg (1861/1937)

ARVO LEIBUR (violin)
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

The 90-year history of the premier orchestra of Estonia has been a long and colourful musical journey. Over the years, the following principal conductors have been responsible for the orchestra’s well-being, and artistic level: Olav Roots (1939–44), Paul Karp (1944–50), Roman Matsov (1950–63), Neeme Järvi (1963–1979, and again from 2010), Peeter Lilje (1980–90), Leo Krämer (1991–93), Arvo Volmer (1993–2001), and Nikolai Alexeev (2001–10).

ENSO is only slightly younger than the Republic of Estonia. Many generations of musicians and devotees of music have grown up with the orchestra. The orchestra has inspired Estonian composers to write new opuses, instrumentalists to perform these works and audiences to be enthralled by them. Under its various principal conductors, the orchestra has endured high times and low times as well as different regimes. Through successful concert tours and recordings, ENSO has been a good advocate for itself and its country. The archives of Estonian Public Broadcasting contain ENSO performances of the majority of the symphonic works of Estonian composers.

At the jubilee concerts, the soloists are ENSO leaders Arvo Leibur and Triin Ruubel, performing under the baton of the orchestra’s principal conductor, Neeme Järvi.

Pre-concert at 6 pm
At a pre-concert at 6 pm, the audience has an opportunity to hear Ernst Urbach’s “Fantasy” – the first piece ENSO’s predecessor, a trio consisting of Hugo Schütz (violin), Alfred Vaarmann (cello) and Anna Sivitski (piano), performed at the start of Tallinn Radio Broadcasting’s first concert on 18 December 1926.

Concerts are produced by ENSO


Estonia kontserdisaal, Tallinn
Thu 17.11.2016 - 19:00 / 16.00 - 50.00 €


Estonia kontserdisaal, Tallinn
Fri 18.11.2016 - 19:00 / 16.00 - 50.00 €